WEAR - Search Results
YOUR THREE CENTS: Do you believe Florida should raise the age requirement for car booster seats to five?
Florida has the loosest child booster seat laws in the country.
Right now, Florida law requires children up to three years old to have a booster or car seat.
That's the lowest age requirement in the country.
31 states mandate booster or car seats for kids up to seven years old.
A bill in Tallahassee would boost the state's age requirement to 5 years.
It passed its final Senate committee last Thursday.
Supporters say a seat belt goes across the neck of younger child, not their chest... and that could cause injury.
The Centers for Disease Control says a booster seat can cut the risk of serious injury for 4 to 8-year-olds nearly in half.
The only senator who voted against the bill says it's a choice best left to parents.
The House unanimously passed similar legislation Wednesday... and some believe it's an indication the bill will pass when voted on the full Senate.
Do you believe Florida should raise the age requirement for car booster seats to five? Tell us what you think. You can vote on our Facebook page under Connect3, or just click here to go there now.